limeade

Has it ever happened to you where you try something new and it turns out to be pretty bad? maybe downright yucky?

well, the other day my hubby brought home the usual grocery splendor and he presented me with a jug of limeade. Now, I am a FAN of lime/lemon/cherry… pretty much any bev that ends in “ade”… so he thought I would enjoy. Also the fact that it was super on sale helped – we’re classy and on a budget!

Anywho, tlimeadehe juice turned out to be not so great! we figured that’s why it was on sale – gettin’ rid of the stuff! a bit chemically, not so much what we had hoped for. BUT here’s the thing, now that the bottle is almost empty I’m coming to worry that I am going to miss it. it took me a week to get used to the chemically aftertaste, i’m probably getting stomach cancer as I write this, but then it got me to thinking about why I seem to have this LOVE/Hate on with this “juice”.

Around 12:45 last night it hit me! OH MAN! it’s a sensory cue! as I was standing in the light of the fridge takin’ a swig that’s when I realized why it was familiar.

it takes me back to my university days – a time when drinking was a pretty regular occurrence (in moderation, responsibly and only on weekend Mom, I promise) and I was trying to figure out what to order at bars, figure out my major and figure who the hell I wanted to be when I grew up.

I say pretty confidently that I have answers for 2 of the 3 things. #1 I enjoy silly drinks  (if it has an umbrella in it I’ll probably like it) #2 I went with my Bachelors in Humanities with a focus in Art History and for #3 I have no Effing idea what I want to be when I grow up… still.

Drinking, making new friends, learning about myself, were some of the most awesome moments so far in this world of mine. That’s why I love/hate the “juice” it makes me think about my past and miss it . it also has to do with the fact that I had a mini reunion over the weekend with my school mates and it confirmed I MISS MY FRIENDS! DID YOU HEAR ME! I MISS YOU! AND I KNOW I DON’T SAY IT ENOUGH!

are there triggers that get you thinking about certain people/places or things? I have so many triggers – I’ll have to write more about them as the year goes on.

Enjoy the weekend and libations responsibly friends.

Leave a Reply

