Treasure Maps and Garbage Day

Like most Fridays our morning is spent watching the garbage collection goings-ons on our street. It’s a VERY exciting morning.

As my daughter was jumping along the couch, giving me the play by play, I noticed the neighbors were throwing out a Grandfather clock. It wasn’t one of those antiques roadshow jewels. It was just a run of the mill Piece of Something that probably came from Sears (PATOOEY!) Circa 1970-80s. And you wouldn’t believe the 2 things that popped into my head.

Now, I don’t know about you guys but since the arrival of Pinterest all I seem to want to do is re-purpose other people’s crap.

And this, my friends, is flicking’ ridiculous! I am never going to be crafty enough to convert a rusty fridge into a chalk painted TV stand slash towel warmer slash treadmill.

BUT my imagination DID immediately jump to something else.

“DID SOMEONE CHECK THAT CLOCK FOR A TREASURE MAP?! What If there is a MAP! Or CLUES TO A STASH OF WWII Artifacts?! THINK OF THE TREASURES!”

Featured image

I guess it has more to do with Goonies than anything else, but I started to wonder about stories of people buying $1 paintings at a yard sale only to find out it’s a Rembrandt worth 1.4 million. Or the guy who found his grandpas baseball cards in the attic and they turned out to be legit collectables worth upwards of a cool million.

And to be clear I am not a Goonies junky, I admit it – I saw it only 5 years ago!

Since yard sale season is just around the corner – I would love to hear about your yard sale scoops! Did you find something that you just know will be a treasure someday? Or something that probably isn’t really “worth” anything but is a treasure to you?

Tell me!

4 thoughts on “Treasure Maps and Garbage Day

  1. I bought a pretty nice market basket on wheels a few years ago, for something silly like $5. I absolutely love it BUT have never used it. I think I just have this romantic image of strolling through a farmer’s market with it, but it’s really not as practical as my Superstore bin or cloth bags 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Karen! i’m sure the market basket is absolutely adorable! what about using it as a prop in a cute family photo shoot? I’m picturing a baby in the basket LOL OH! or we could make giant paper-mache veggies and make you a larger than life front door display. FUN!

      Like

  2. I once bought a HUGE gold lame bag that I have repurposed as my laptop bag at work because my assigned laptop bag doesn’t have enough space for the snacks needed in a marathon meeting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

